CD released in 2004

THE RYDERS new CD 2004      

The Gold Turned Into Sand

 1.   The Gold Turned Into Sand  (Guldet Blev Till Sand)  (B. Andersson / B. Ulvaeus)  Soundclip
2.   A World Without Love  (Lennon / McCartney)
3.   The Rocket Man  (arr. S. Rossner)
4.   It´ll Be Me  (Clements)
 5.   Secrets Of The Sea  (Lennart Clerwall)
6.   Blue Hotel  (Chris Isaak)
7.   Surf -99  (Michael Sellers)
8.   When A Man Loves A Woman  (A. Wright / C. Lewis)  Soundclip
9.   Still On Earth  (Hans Clerwall)
10.  Why Little Girl  (Fraser / Jewry)  Soundclip
11.  Alpens Ros  (trad. arr)
12.  Oh, Pretty Woman  (Orbison / Dees)
13.  Electric Shock  (C. Padovan)   Soundclip
14.  Little Sister  (D. Pomus / M. Shuman)
15.  Green Fields  (Gilkyson / Dehr / Miller)
16.  I Want Sweet Loving  (Lennart Clerwall / Hans Sidén)

Order this CD Here

Read the CD review from Pipeline Magazine:

THE RYDERS                      THE GOLD TURNED INTO SAND                          CD

SGV Recording Service SGVCD-0404; Sweden 2004; 44min

The Gold Turned Into Sand / A World Without Love (v) / The Rocket Man / It'll Be Me (v) / Secrets Of The Sea / Blue Hotel (v) / Surf -99 / When A Man Loves A Woman (v) / Still On Earth / Why Little Girl (v) / Alpens Ros / Oh, Pretty Woman (v) / Electric Shock / Little Sister (v) / Green Fields / I Want Sweet Loving (v)

Lead guitarist Kurt Froberg is an old friend of Pipeline, subscribing with us from the outset and leading both The Spacemen and The Invaders onstage at two conventions. It's typical of the guy's modesty that it has taken a full five years for the second full album by his own group The Ryders to appear. The Gold Turned Into Sand continues with their policy of combining vocals and instrumentals, a necessity in maintaining the group as a viable gigging outfit. The vocals from second rhythm guitarist Per-Olof Backman are pretty damn good too, only his rather too mature styling on A World Without Love letting the side down. It'll Be Me is the rocker and not the ballad and Chris Isaak's Blue Hotel is an inspired choice delivered with considerable panache by P-O and Kurt on guitar. Bass guitarist Ejje Pettersson, who played with The Invaders at the convention, gets to sing a great Why Little Girl, one of many highlights of the group's Tilburg performance this year. It was a superb set and a Kurt has a great bunch of guys around him.

The title track here is the group's arrangement of a popular number from the Björn & Benny musical Kristina From Duvemåla. A fine melody, The Ryders drive it along at pace with Kurt's flowing lead to the fore. The Rocket Man is a stage favourite performed in Spotnicks style complete with effects on the intro and outro. The mid-tempo '60s guitar ballad Secrets Of The Sea is a new Lenny Clerwall composition - quality guaranteed. On Surf -99 Kurt brings a rich echo lead to a rockin' track from fellow Swedes The Langhorns, while Still On Earth is a terrific moody Hans Clerwall ballad from Kurt's days with The Spacemen. Alpens Ros is a classic '60s trad-style instro from The Violents (Ghia next time please lads!) and Electric Shock is a rockin' track from an obscure French 1982 LP on the Flamaphone label by Les Nostalgics, where it was titled Electric Choc. The final instrumental is Green Fields, a proud slow melody which comes via Finnish group The Steelers.

So we have eight excellent instrumentals interspersed with some very acceptable vocals from one of the finest bands around. I recommend the album and the band, get to see them if you can.          

Read the  CD review from MWE3:

SGV - The country that brought you ABBA and Volvo, Sweden is also quite renowned for their guitar instrumental groups. One of the best of the current batch are The Ryders. Featuring a number of fine players including lead guitarist Kurt Fröberg, the 16 track 2004 Ryders CD, The Gold Turned Into Sand balances their guitar instrumental sound with vocal favorites like “World Without Love”, the Doc Pomus classic “Little Sister” and the Roy Orbison-penned “Oh, Pretty Woman”. Other standouts include the classic instro title track and the fantastic Lennart Clerwell penned “Still On Earth”. Commenting on the Ryders’ special ‘guitaristic’ approach Fröberg adds, “The title track is a very popular musical ballad written by Björn and Benny of ABBA and is from their musical Kristina from Duvemåla. I don't know if it´s being known in the US. We have made our own arrangement of that melody in a typical early 60's Scandinavian style. We have a mix of instros and vocals as we are a coverband and that is what we play at most gigs. We do make special instrumental gigs also, like The Spotnicks-festival in Sweden, The Shadows festival in Oslo and the Cliff Richard & The Shadows international Fan Meeting in Holland in April this year.” All in all, there’s certainly enough classic Euro-flavored guitar sounds and rootsy rockers on The Gold Turned Into Sand to make it of interest for fans of both ‘50s rock and the Ventures / Shadows guitar instro sound.
Robert Silverstein  /
Music Web Express 3000 ; 20th Century Guitar

Order the previous CD "Most Wanted" HERE